I awoke with a hangover….

8 months ago today I awoke with a hangover, not a terrible immobilizing one, just an average everyday kind of one, but on that day I made decision; to reclaim my life.

I dragged myself up and headed out on a mission to fulfil a need. I’d seen her a few weeks back and, as I’d passed, I’d caught a glimpse of her flowing gown and serene pose, I’d felt a connection but hadn’t been ready for her.

Now, suffering again, beaten to a low that had become the norm, I felt the desire and hope that she offered, I hungered for her compassion and direction, after all she is a  Bodhisattva, she dedicated herself to the benefit of all others.

However, it wasn’t only the effigy but the craftsmanship that enamoured me; hand carved to perfection from the whole, removing the surplus to reveal the substance. The process of stripping back what isn’t needed to allow the true form to emerge. As Michelangelo is quoted as saying: Every block of stone has a statue inside it and it is the task of the sculptor to discover it.

Let us be the sculptor of our own effigies, the craftsman that reveals the true self.

fullsizeoutput_ad3

Leave a comment